Sitting is the new smoking?

Someone dropped this quote on me the other day and I just couldn’t get it out of my head.
I’ve luckily never felt the desire to smoke and think I can call myself quite the anti-smoker – but sitting is something I am very guilty of.
Like many of you I spent a large chunk of my day sitting behind a desk.
While I find living in London without a car or bike adds in a good amount of miles on foot every day, I still felt a bit distressed so I did a little research on the subject.

reasons-sitting-is-bad-for-you1502438146-may-15-2012-600x695

Here’s what I found:
*People with sitting jobs have twice the rate of cardiovascular disease as people with standing jobs.
*Sitting 6+ hours per day makes you up to 40% likelier to die within 15 years than someone who sits less than 3. Even if you exercise.
*Obese people sit for 2.5 hours more than slim people.
*Between 1980 and 2000 despite exercise staying the same, sitting time was increased by 8% and obesity DOUBLED.

As soon as you sit down:
*Electrical activity in the leg muscles shuts of
*Calorie burning drops to 1 per minute
*After 2 hours of sitting good cholesterol drops by 20%
*After 24 hours insulin effectiveness drops 24% and the risk of diabetes rises.

Walking burns 3-5 x the calories that sitting does, so try to get up as often as you can.

-Use the bathroom at the other end of the office
-See a phone call as a change to stretch your legs
-Use your lunch break to go on a little stroll, it will help you get in some vitamin D as well
-If you can convince your boss, get a standing desk
-Travel by car? Pick a parking space further away
-Public transport: why not get off one station early and get in a 15 minute walk

I’m motivated to get in some extra movement, what better motivation than health?

Leave a Reply

